Team types

It has been bothering me for a while now, having been in various different types of teams. Everyone one of which was called a team and was coerced into trying to fit the standard scrum team mould.

I believe not every group of people is a team. That each group requires different considerations. I got a bit lost in the depth of analysis on my initial deep dive into this topic. My recent reading of the Team Topoligies book got me thinking that maybe I can make it simpler.

This is my Team types of which people can belong to multiple options.

Types of teams.

For example, while employed as an agile coach I was in the co workers group for the company. I was in the community of practice for the Agile Coaches, I was in a complicated sub system (Dynamic working) group for the work I was doing around Jira and I was supporting various stream aligned teams as a enabling team of Agile coaches.

In each of these I needed different things from the team in order to excel. Some I was very collaborative like the complicated sub system and the community of practice. In the enabling team I was facilitating, coaching and mentoring. In the co workers group, I was very much an individual.

I used to feel that each group would then have different needs from management. However lately I have been thinking that they need a continuum of the same things. Some need more and some need less depending on their stage towards high performance as illustrated in the below diagrams.

What a team needs

Teams pathway to high performance based on Tuckmans model.

This feels more complete for me now, I feel it also helps to define your teams structure to work out where your team might need more and options to support that either as a team member yourself of as the leadership supporting that team.

Leave a comment