Where do I fit? another new opportunity to drive change.

It seems people don’t really know what team to put me in.  A quick google shows that it is a point of confusion.  Do I belong with the development team as I am working with them on a day to day basis?  Do I belong with the business partnerships team because their goal is to support all other teams?  This does make sense but not all the people that should be in this area are here yet, e.g. the business analysts are not here yet either.  Or should I belong with HR as put forward in this article .

I was worried about losing some of the knowledge I had gained from being in the development team, being part of the team meetings and getting the insight of what the tech leads and development director were thinking.  Though I do completely agree I am a better fit in the business partnerships space.  I didn’t have the mandate to drive the change in processes from within the development team.

I am now communicating the way I want to work with the team, getting an understanding of how they want to work with me.  We have a planning day next week and I have a lot of ideas to put forward and see where the team wants to go and how they want to work.  I am hoping to drive some full value stream changes now that I am in this team.

Starting with a value stream/ projects weekly meeting.  It’s a bit of an experiment and I still have to get the rest of the people to give it a try.  My only real concern is that it will be a large group of people, about 13 all up.  I want it to be a kindof standup for the whole value stream.  Starting with the account managers talking about what is coming up and looks to be the highest priority from incoming work and capex work.  then onto hiring and budget information, then analysis and backlog grooming teams, then onto the development teams to talk about what is being worked on and is almost ready for deployment.  We will have the release, communications and app support team representatives there as well so that they can have that high level heads up of whats coming up for them.

I am hoping it works out as at the moment there is not the visibility across the whole stream for the key mid level people that need to know.

 

Leave a comment